Databases
Genealogy Databases:
African American Heritage
Ancestry.com (in library access only)
Fold3
Discover your family’s military past through this database by Ancestry.com. Fold3 offers a convenient way to view military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of men and women who served. HeritageHub Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today.
HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.
HeritageQuest
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
All Databases (listed in alphabetical order)
This database offers full text journals, magazines, and reference books from EBSCOhost dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition – coverage includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.
Through a library of tens of thousands of full-text journals and magazines from renowned publishers, EBSCO serves the content needs of all researchers (Academic, Medical, K-12, Public Library, Corporate, Government, etc.). With an easy to use search interface you have access to all types of resources for your research needs
Search for any subject and find academic journals, magazines, reference books, or other resources. Perfect for Teens and Adults performing any kind of research for school or work.
Find information from a wide range of resources, including magazines and reference books. Geared toward students Grades 6-12, Explora can help with any school subject.
Discover your family’s military past through this database by Ancestry.com. Fold3 offers a convenient way to view military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of men and women who served.
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.
This genealogy database offers access to census records, over 28,000 family and local history books, city directories, and more.
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.
This EBSCO database offers detailed how-to instructions and ideas for hobby and craft enthusiasts. Content includes full text for nearly 2,000 magazines and books, over 720 videos, more than 180 hobby profiles, and over 10,000 recipes.
Explore home repair projects and home improvement ideas on this database provided by EBSCO. Discover more than130 full-text reference books, including major reference works from Creative Publishing International, over 40 full-text magazines and trade publications, 35,000 images not available anywhere else online, and nearly 100 videos of popular home repair projects.
The Literary Reference Center has the full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works; containing plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.
This database provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. All the resources needed to complete a fantastic paper for school.
The New York Times
• In-Library Access
- Go to The New York Times.
- Register for a new account, or use your existing NYTimes.com login.
Please note: In-Library Access provides coverage from 1981 to today. For articles from 1851 to today, use the Remote and App Access instructions to sign up for a 24-hour pass.
• Remote and App Access
- Sign in with library card number/password.
- Click “REDEEM”.
- Register for a new account, or use your existing NYTimes.com login.
- Once you redeem a 24-hr pass, you can sign into the NYTimes app with your login.
- When the 24-hr pass expires, you can sign in again to continue access.
- The 24-hr pass also gives you access to The New York Times archives, from 1851 to today. Once you’re logged in, use the search function in the top left to find historic articles by topic or date range. You can also visit the TimesMachine to see PDFs of archived papers.
Access World News by NewsBank. Read today’s issue and archives of the Canton Repository and 3500 additional media outlets. See full-page newspaper images, full text articles and more. Cite sources with just one click. Click “A-Z Source List” to search for a specific newspaper or outlet. Access all Ohio news source archives using this link.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Find your next great read for any age, fiction or nonfiction, whether it’s a pleasure read or a school assignment. Includes Common Core support for teachers, as well as Lexile scores and AR levels. Need help? Use our unique step-by-step guide.
Discover comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science. This database is from Oxford University Press.
View or search available titles online. For access outside of the library log in with your library card number.
This searchable database offers large-scale maps in electronic format. The maps can be magnified and zoomed in and layered which is helpful for all types of researchers including local historians.
Get quick authoritative and accessible overviews of various subjects with this database by Oxford University Press. In this resource, hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects.
Discover ratings for stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, as well as banks, credit unions, insurers, and consumer guides on prescription drug plans, health savings accounts, elder care options, debt management, and retirement savings plans. Those new to investing and finance will find this an inviting guide, while more sophisticated users will appreciate the detail and currency.
Use this site to identify any tree indigenous to Ohio by leaf, fruit, or name.
Identify the snakes that live in Ohio, as well as explore facts and myths about snakes.
Use the Glossary, Artifact Index, or the guide to identify flint artifacts that may be found in Ohio.
The World Book Web database is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
Databases for Children
LOTE4Kids
LOTE4Kids is an online database of digital books in World Languages, that allows kids to enjoy the magic of books in LOTE (Languages Other Than English). Each book also comes with English translations to help kids learn languages.
Download the LOTE4Kids App today!
How LOTE4Kids can help you:
- Grow and diversify your children’s LOTE and digital book collections
- Engage culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) families in your communities
- Help ESL kids to learn English while holding onto mother tongue
- Provide an additional resource kids learning languages at school.
Scholastic Teachables
ReadyRosie
Try ReadyRosie a video learning experience for families. ReadyRosie is an early education tool that helps families, schools, and communities across the nation deepen and scale their family engagement efforts. These tools leverage the power of video modeling, family workshops, professional development opportunities, and mobile technology to build powerful partnerships between families and educators, resulting in Ready Families, Ready Educators, Ready Children.
Use our invitation code: ncpl to register for ReadyRosie.
PebbleGo
PebbleGo Next
BookFlix
TrueFlix
ScienceFlix
All Flix Programs:
- Include timely and engaging content that is accessible for all patrons
- Provide digital tools for homework help and research
- Support the Common Core Standards and the school and homeschool curriculum
Abcmouse.com
Get in Touch with the NCPL
Have questions? Need help finding something? We’re here to help!
